Why I Don’t Fear Missing Out

“If you love something, let it go. If it comes back to you, its yours forever. If it doesn’t, then it was never meant to be. – Unknown

I’m sure we have all had that feeling of “Did I miss my chance?” I used to fear that my being shy would force me to miss out on something, opportunities, friendships, and mostly: relationships. After growing closer to God and learning more about His word, I do not fear missing out on anything.

I heard the phrase “The One That Got Away” for the first time when I was in middle school. For a few years I feared that I would one day have my own “one that got away”. I do not fear that at all anymore. I know now that God doesn’t allow the real “one” that He has always had planned for you get away. No, the one God has for you may exit your life and then come back, but if the person you believe to be “the one” makes a permanent exit from your life, they are not “the one” made for you by God. While this may seem hard to hear, I can assure you that if you think this person was perfect for you, the actual “one” is better for you than you could ever have dreamed of.

Likewise, in anything, there is no reason to fear missing out on something. God knows your plan and He is watching carefully while keeping you right on track. Everything is going exactly as He is wanting it to. If you feel like you missed out on an opportunity, find peace in knowing that it was simply not in God’s plan for you.

In short, I do not believe in the phrase, “the one that got away”. There is no such thing. God will not allow this to happen. His plan is perfect and so is His timing. Be patient. There is a reason for everything.

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9

 

Then the Lord God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” Genesis 2:18

Seek and read from the book of the Lord: Not one of these shall be missing; none shall be without her mate. For the mouth of the Lord has commanded, and his Spirit has gathered them. Isaiah 34:16

 

Why I Don’t Fear Missing Out

Leave a Reply

